Days 19-21

Today I’m doing days 19-21 for the RSD/CRPS Awareness Challenge!

Day 19: A picture of why you want people to be aware of RSD.

FullSizeRender-4

Awareness is important for several reasons. First, more awareness can lead to more research. If researchers and doctors don’t know about RSD/CRPS, how are they supposed to dig deeper to find solutions for our pain? It is also important for the many people who remain undiagnosed. Again, doctors need to be aware so they can tell their patients what is wrong. On the flipside of that, if someone has been struggling with pain for a while and they hear about RSD, they might be able to talk to their doctor about it and see if their symptoms match the disorder. Lastly, I think awareness is important so that people understand what we are dealing with. Too often, people look at me like I have twelve eyes when I tell them I have a chronic pain disorder called RSD (or CRPS). It’s not like cancer or diabetes or another well-known diagnosis. It’s a hidden problem that leaves people feeling isolated and alone when those around them don’t understand.

Day 20: A picture of your dream escape.

DSCN2019

This picture was taken a few years ago in California. I was in remission at the time, and I really wanted to go to the beach, my favorite place. It was chilly that day, so only my dad and I got our feet in the water. The rest of my family stayed in the car. Despite the cold temperature, I was ecstatic about dipping my toes in. I love everything about the beach. Really, I love water in general. Ponds, lakes, oceans…water has a way of bringing a deep peace to my soul. I enjoy watching the waves, smelling the air, and listening to the stirring of birds and fish. In fact, one of the reasons that I chose my college (which is now my former school) was because of the gorgeous pond on campus. If you know my story then you know that that pond is the exact place where my injury took place 2 years ago, taking me out of remission and into another nightmare. The irony is not lost on me.

Day 21: A picture and quote that get you through the toughest days.

IMG_1502

Well, the picture above combines 2 of my most favorite, most peace-inducing things: water and a sunset. Both of these remind me that there is still good in the world, even if I don’t feel it at the moment. I have way too many quotes that I love (just look at my Pinterest board!), but here are some of my favorites…

“Whenever you find yourself doubting how far you can go, just remember how far you have come. Remember everything you have faced, all the battles you have won, and all the fears you have overcome.” -Unknown

“Perhaps the butterfly is proof that you can go through a great deal of darkness yet become something beautiful.” -Unknown

“You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself: ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’ You must do the thing that you think you cannot do.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

Comments? Questions? I'd love to hear from you!