Just Ask

“You have not because you ask not.”

A lesson I’ve been learning a lot in this season of life.

Have you ever wanted something, but you were too scared to ask for it…so you never got it? Maybe a birthday present that you secretly hoped someone would get you, but you never said anything. Or perhaps a changed grade when you knew you had the right answer. Even just the idea of asking for help can be difficult, but costly if you try to do it alone.

The thing is, people don’t always know your needs and wants. They can’t just see into your brain and figure out exactly what you’re too scared to say. It’s up to you to be an advocate for yourself and just ask.

“If you don’t ask, the answer is always no.”-Nora Roberts

Lately I’ve had to ask for help on many occasions. Rides to volunteer activities, help with my homework, and even asking for someone to carry a dish in the dining hall when my hands are too full. Just this morning, I had to have a conversation with my Professor. I asked him if I could take an exam on Thursday, even though it is scheduled for Friday. I have an appointment on Friday and would rather go home the day before, so I gave it a shot. Normally I’m pretty passive and do things according to plan, but today I gathered up my courage and asked. I figured the worst that would happen is that he’d say no, but guess what? He said yes! After all my worrying, the problem was solved by the simple action of asking.

Don’t be afraid to go after what you want. Be even more fearless when asking for what you need. People are usually willing to work with you and meet your needs, but they need to know what those are first. Take a chance, go out on a limb, and be bold. Ask, and you shall receive. What’s the worst that can happen?

e69c1f8bd51b7da42a8403ebf2412cca

Comments? Questions? I'd love to hear from you!