Thundersnow and other Craziness

Over the past 48 hours I’m pretty sure we’ve had almost every type of weather. Yesterday it was gorgeous and sunny, and warm enough that I didn’t even need a coat! This morning was mild, but by 10am the weather just couldn’t make up its mind! I left my anatomy class and headed to Spanish, but on the way there I was pelted by a mixture of snow, ice pellets, and rain. It was crazy! On my exposed RSD leg it felt like dozens flaming darts were shooting into my body. Not the best sensation.

The rest of the day has been a rollercoaster. More rain, snow, ice, and even thunder and lightning! The lights in my dorm have flickered a few times but I think the chances of us losing power are pretty slim (although it has happened before!)

I do love rainy days when I can sit and enjoy a good book while sipping a hot cup of tea, but my body doesn’t. Weather changes are particularly because of my RSD/CRPS so I have to do some damage control on days like today. It’s so wild to me how the body can react so strangely to changes in conditions. To minimize the pain I try to stay inside as much as possible (which seems like a given…I mean, why subject yourself to more contact with the precipitation when you already have oversensitive extremities?), relax, and keep the stress levels low. Obviously these are hard to do when you’re a busy college student, but I try.

Rain also brings back the nightmarish memories of falling the first time my RSD went full-body. Thankfully my rain guards on my crutches have been helping reduce the slip risk, but the possibility of falling is still pretty high so I have to be extra careful.

I’m very thankful that this week has been better than the past few, even with the nasty weather. I’ve been in better spirits and I’m starting to understand what we’re learning in my classes a bit more. I’m going home tomorrow to spend the weekend with my family so I am very excited about that. I need this break so badly to realign myself and take a moment to breathe.

I hope everyone is staying dry and cozy! I’m going to go finish my tea and get some work done before bed.

Peace 🙂

Comments? Questions? I'd love to hear from you!